KPA Business Meeting Minutes March 6, 2021

Executive Director Rebecca Brackmann called the meeting to order at 12:30, noted the meeting is being recorded. She also noted that with the exception of the presidential address, presentations are not being recorded, for reasons of cost and digital storage space. She then extended a huge "thank you" to the Executive Committee; to Cristy Hall and Laura Dennis, whose terms are coming to an end; to those who volunteered as session hosts; and especially to Craig for all the extra hours he put in between rebuilding the website and setting up Zoom.

Laura Dennis then initiated a round of thanks and applause to Rebecca Brackmann, who following a transition year will step down from the Executive Director role.

Rebecca noted that KPR submissions should be sent directly to Karen Taylor, as per the new system. Although moderators are no longer required to submit papers, if they have something they especially like, they should feel free to pass that along.

Rebecca presented the Graduate Student Award goes to Caroline Plasket of Northern Kentucky University for "Changing the World: How Hybrid Writing Better Communicates Word-Art and Dissolves Hegemonic Otherness." Congratulations to Caroline.

Rebecca noted that all reports are posted online and asked if there were any questions. There were not. Participants are invited to send e-mails later if they think of anything.

Dominic Ashby initiated a shoutout to Karen for the new process she initiated for submitting to and editing the *KPR*. Karen thanked the Editorial Committee in return.

Rebecca and Craig presented the slate of officers (also available on website):

Executive Director: Rebecca Brackman / David Powell*

Past President: Dominic Ashby President: Scott VanderPloeg

Vice President: Valerio Caldesi Valeri

Treasurer: Shayne Confer Secretary: Ryan Sergent-Payne KPR Editor: Karen Taylor

Webmaster: Craig Steffen

Creative Writing Representative: Rhonda Petit Popular Culture Representative: Christy Sulfridge Foreign Language Representative: Nancy Jentsch

* David Powell is interested in taking over as Executive Director in 2022, so he and Rebecca will split duties of this position and of Program Committee Chair this year.

Fran Helphinstine moved to accept slate as presented. Scott Vander Ploeg seconded. Unanimous approval via wave / emoji.

Rebecca reminded us to fill out conference evaluations on website.

There was no new business.

Meeting adjourned for Dominic Ashby's presidential address.

Respectfully submitted (for the last time), Laura Dennis, KPA Secretary 2017-2021