Who We Are

The Kentucky Philological Association is an organization for professors, writers, and others who study, teach, or produce literature. Founded in 1973, we have been the state’s premier organization for networking, socializing, and engaging in language and literary arts and education for almost fifty years. Our annual meeting and conference includes presentation of creative or critical works, and also offers the opportunity for those works to be published in our MLA-indexed journal, The Kentucky Philological Review.

Executive Committee 2022-2023:

Executive Director: David Powell

Past President: Scott Vander Ploeg

President: Valerio Caldesi Valeri

Vice President: Gary Walton

Treasurer: Shayne Confer

Secretary: Ryan Sergent-Payne

KPR Editor: Karen Taylor

Webmaster: Craig Steffen

Creative Writing Representative: Rhonda Petit

Popular Culture Representative: Christy Sulfridge

Foreign Language Representative: Jody Ballah